RSS

Baked Banana Oatmeal

09 Aug

I’ve never heard of Baked Oatmeal until I stumbled upon Lynn’s Kitchen Adventures.  She had a lot of recipes for baked oatmeal and I figured it was worth a try.  As we all know, oatmeal is healthy but somewhat boring so having a new recipe won’t hurt.

We had it for breakfast last Sunday and we could hardly wait for it to be ready as it smelled so good.  I had to adjust the recipe a bit though, since I used a smaller dish.  It was just enough for our family of 4.  It’s a very easy dish that even the kids can mix.

We used rolled oats so it is a bit chewy.  I initially didn’t want to put in chocolate chips but the kids saw what I was doing and they mixed in the chocolates.  We tried it both with and without milk and I preferred having it with milk.  I also think I’d add more milk and eggs next time, for added calcium and protein.

All in all, it was a great recipe and something I’ll definitely do again.  It would be great for breakfast, brunch and snacks.  Would you like to try some?

Baked Banana Oatmeal (adjusted from this recipe)

  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • ¼ cup brown sugar
  • ½  cup milk
  • 1  tablespoon butter, melted
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • ½  teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 bananas, mashed
  • chocolate chips to sprinkle
  1. Mix all ingredients together and stir well.
  2. Spread in an 8 x 8 pan.
  3. Bake at 350 for 20-25 minutes.
  4. If you like it a little crunchy on top cook for a few minutes longer.
  5. Serve with milk poured over top.
  6. Enjoy!
 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 9, 2011 in Oatmeal

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Baked Banana Oatmeal

  1. livinglearningeating

    August 9, 2011 at 8:18 pm

    Ooh, I could see this being scrumptious with kamut flakes ( http://livinglearningeating.wordpress.com/2011/08/08/flaky-fantastic/ )

     
    • cheriep

      August 10, 2011 at 1:00 am

      I’ve never heard of kamut flakes but after checking your post, I guess it would work. Looks like you had a great breakfast. Enjoy!

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

