RSS

Grilled cheese with tomatoes and basil

18 Jul

Looks like I’m on a healthy track this week.  Yesterday, I wrote about oatmeal pancakes.  Today, I’m having a pretty healthy lunch.

It started with a suggestion from friends that I add cheese to my tomato toast which I had for lunch last week.  I decided to try that today.

Unfortunately, we ran out of bread since we finished it off for breakfast last Saturday and I haven’t had a chance to make another loaf.  So I had to bake some bread before I could make my sandwich.

I decided to try something new.  I made some kind of milk bread.  It’s pretty easy, instead of water, I used milk.  It’s a great way to finish off the milk in the ref.

The dough was very smooth and soft and I think this is a good sign that the bread would be soft, too.  I got a bit concerned though when I saw some yeast dotting the surface of the bread as I was shaping it into a loaf after the first rising.  Did I underknead it?  Should I have dissolved the yeast?  Should I have heated the milk?  I use instant yeast and I read that it can be mixed with the flour and that it’s not necessary to proof it.  I guess I just have to wait and see what happens.

It turned out looking pretty decent.  I could see some white specks which was probably the yeast that I noticed prior to baking.  I couldn’t wait for the bread to cool completely before slicing it.

Time to assemble my sandwich.  On one slice, I put some mayonnaise and sliced tomatoes seasoned with salt and pepper.  On the other slice, I placed the cheese and basil leaves.  I only had some quickmelt but I wanted to try this sandwich already without waiting for the chance to buy some mozarella.

After toasting, heaven.

I think I’ve found my new go-to sandwich.  You should try it!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 18, 2011 in Sandwiches

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
