RSS

Focaccia

21 Jul

I just love the smell of baking bread.  It’s very inviting and warm.  And I’m smelling it right now. 🙂

We’re having pasta for dinner tonight so of course I wanted some bread to go with it.  As luck would have it, we don’t have any bread that I could make into toast so I thought of making garlic lover’s pull apart bread but we don’t have any butter and it was too hot to go out and buy some.

I wanted something different from a loaf but with limited ingredients, I decided on Focaccia.  I’ve made focaccia once and it turned out decent so I decided to make it again tonight.

It was very easy and fast for bread.  It was done from start to finish in under two hours!

dinner is served!

I got my recipe from Simply Italian by Sophie Braimbridge and just changed it a bit.

Focaccia
adapted from Simply Italian by Sophie Braimbridge

Ingredients:
2 cups bread flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 t salt
1 cup lukewarm water
1 t sugar
1/4 c olive oil
2 t yeast

I always use instant yeast so I usually skip the proofing part.  Just mix all the ingredients and knead until smooth.  I use a kitchen aide so it’s really easy.

Let the dough rise for about an hour until doubled.  Usually, we’re told to have the dough rise in an oiled bowl and I usually skip this too and just let the dough rise in a clean bowl.

dough doubled in size

Punch down the dough then spread it on a pan that’s been oiled well.  Let the dough rest until the oven has been preheated to 210 degrees Celcius.

Poke dimples on the bread.  Brush generously with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and dried herbs.  I also sprinkled some Parmesan cheese.

Bake for 20 – 30 min.  Take out of the pan to cool.  Cut then serve and enjoy!

freshly baked focaccia

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 21, 2011 in Bread

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
