RSS

Daily Archives: July 25, 2011

Ultimate Potato Gratin

I’m so excited to finally make something off my list.  I’ll be making Tyler Florence’s Ultimate Potato Gratin Recipe.  I’ve first seen Nigella make this in one of her shows and I decided that I wanted to try it.  So I surfed for recipes and Tyler’s seems better and more filling and nutritious.  At least I’m hoping it is since the recipe had cabbage in it 🙂 .

I wanted to take pictures while making it but since I only have two hands which were sufficiently busy, I was not able to do so.  I even forgot to take a picture before it went into the oven.

But here it is after it got out:

Here are some of my notes about the recipe:

  • I don’t really measure while cooking.  I usually eyeball it.  I used 6 pcs of medium sized potatoes, just one pack of cream (1 cup), put in half a cup of water in the container to rinse it and added that too.  I used about half a cup of grated quickmelt cheese to mix with the potatoes and just sprinkled parmesan on each layer.  I also don’t have chives so I skipped that too.  Oh, and I used about 5 strips of bacon.
  • According to the recipe, prep time was just 10 min.  I think it took me about 45 minutes to cut everything and cook the bacon and cabbage.  I guess I’m just slow.
  • Do try to cool it for about 20 min after coming out of the oven so the cheese and cream would set.  We didn’t so it was kinda runny when we cut into it.
All in all, it was a success.  It was creamy and rich.  You couldn’t taste the cabbage at all.  We all loved it and we’ll definitely do this again.
 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 25, 2011 in Potato

 

Tags: , , ,