RSS

Pesto Grilled Cheese

28 Jul

I’m a big fan of pesto but I haven’t made some in years.  My family’s not so enthusiastic about it so I don’t make it often.  But because of the typhoon the past couple of days, my basil plant’s branches broke so I figured it’s time to make some pesto since I can’t bear to throw away all those wonderful basil leaves.

This is the first time I’ve made pesto without really measuring my ingredients.  I figured I’ll make it like the chefs on TV who just put enough olive oil to cover the leaves, add about a cup of parmesan cheese, lots of garlic, a bit of salt and pepper and process everything.  I came across a recipe where walnuts are added instead of pine nuts and I did that too.  Pine nuts here are just outrageously expensive.

As luck would have it, we were having carbonara last night so I got some noodles and tried out the result and it was great!  I also added a bit of pesto to my serving of carbonara and it was perfect.  My family however refused to try it.  Oh well, at least I have pesto to use anytime I want.

So, for lunch today, I decided to make a grilled cheese sandwich and use pesto instead of butter or mayo.  I can’t decided whether to have it with tomatoes so I made two sandwiches instead.  Since the bread I made yesterday was a bit small anyway, 2 sandwiches would just be right for lunch.

Doesn’t that look great already?  But of course I’m not done yet.

I also sprinkled a bit of parmesan.  And after grilling…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I never knew sandwiches could be so filling!  Let’s eat!

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 28, 2011 in Sandwiches

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
