RSS

Creamy Macaroni and Cauliflower

01 Oct

I saw Jamie Oliver make this on one of his shows.  I just couldn’t remember what he called is so I’m calling it, creamy macaroni and cauliflower.  He said it was supposed to be similar to macaroni and cheese with the added benefit of having cauliflower and bacon.  Now, everything is better with bacon.  🙂

It turned out pretty okay, I think.  There was a topping of bread crumbs, bacon bits and parmesan cheese sprinkled on top and this provided a nice contrast to the creamy macaroni.

I couldn’t find the recipe on his website though so I just did it the way I remembered it.  I just boiled the macaroni and cauliflower together in one pot, and they cook at the same time.  After draining, I mashed the cauliflower in the baking dish.  I mixed in a pack of cream and a cup of the pasta water.  I also mixed in some cheese and seasoned with salt and pepper.  Then, I sprinkled the topping and baked for about 30 min at 180 degrees Celcius.

Of course a pasta dish should be served with bread so I made some Herb Garlic Baguettes to go with it.  I just shaped it a bit differently.  It smelled so good and was great with butter.

Overall, it a pretty good dinner.  I guess what would make it even better is to also have bacon bits mixed in with the macaroni to cut through the creaminess.  Let’s eat!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 1, 2011 in Bread, Pasta

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
